BB Webb as BB Webb!

Exploring the Possibilities

Bury Me Please Under a Dogwood Tree April 12, 2010

It’s a small request, but one that suits me.

The Dogwood. Graceful, poised with her perfect blossoms and statuesque build.

She sneaks in behind the eager daffodils, an ACT 2 harbinger to spring.

Magically she arrives on stage, like a ready dancer, her arms held so perfectly poised.

Sturdy is this beauty, independent and strong with her trunk and muscled arms.

So bury me there so I might enjoy her brief blossom, so much like life.

We arrive, tarry awhile yet depart really quite quickly,

This pretty Dogwood, her stay is not so different,

Her return each year like our own journeying from one lifetime to the next,

As we meet the people we’re meant to meet upon our path,

Bury me there, my ashes and a favored trinket or two.

And if my dogs should live beyond my years.

You might bury them there as well.

It’s fitting, Dogwood and all!

BB Webb

 

10 Responses to “Bury Me Please Under a Dogwood Tree”

  1. Larry Says:

    Hi BB Webb,

    My discovery of your site was looking up images of dogwood tree varieties under consideration for our new home in NC. Thank you for the wonderful prose about your dogwood.

    Larry

    P.S. The teacher in me won’t let me not cite your misspelling:
    “…changing playground of life. Having someone bare witness to my experience…”. ‘Bare” in this context is ‘bear,’ although bare might be justified as the more pleasant consideration.

    • BB Webb Says:

      Hello Larry! Oh, feedback is ALWAYS welcomed. You might need to be the editor for the book I’m writing!! Thank you for the feedback and the thought of ‘bare’ being a ‘pleasant consideration’!! You are too kind. We are only as brilliant as the people we surround ourselves with. (oops, ended in a preposition)! NC is a LOVELY state. I have a dear friend who lives there and I always love to visit. Best wishes with your new journey! Warmly, BB

  2. Here, in British Columbia, we are celebrating 100 years of P.E.O. It would be wonderful if we could use your dogwood photo on our home page as the Pacific dogwood is B.C.’s provincial flower. Could you please give us permission to use your image for next year?

    P.E.O. is an international sisterhood that supports the education of women.

    Sincerely,
    Debora

    • BB Webb Says:

      I would LOVE to know more about your organization Deborah as I am an advocate of both the education of women and the entrepreneur, particularly the female entrepreneur. In fact, I’ll be at a ‘high hat tea’ in Athens, GA with the Jeannette Rankin Foundation who also raises money for the education of women. You might be interested in reading about them. http://www.rankinfoundation.org/ I also wrote a blog about them after willing the hat competition 🙂 https://bbwebb.wordpress.com/?s=jeannette+rankin

      The photos…i found them online with no credit so I’d say, (as far as I know) they are fair game. Best wishes. I am entirely in love with those precious dogwoods, all showing up so beautifully this morning in my back forest. And oh, British Columbia, a gorgeous part of the world, for sure!

      Thanks so much for stopping in! Warmly, BB Webb

  3. […] Bury Me Please Under a Dogwood Tree (via BB Webb as BB Webb!) Posted on April 23, 2011 by elin1206 It's a small request, but one that suits me. The Dogwood. Graceful, poised with her perfect blossoms and statuesque build. She sneaks in behind the eager daffodils, an ACT 2 harbinger to spring. Magically she arrives on stage, like a ready dancer, her arms held so perfectly poised. Sturdy is this beauty, independent and strong with her trunk and muscled arms. So bury me there so I might enjoy her brief blossom, so much like life. We arrive, tarry … Read More […]

  4. Adam Love Says:

    BB Webb,

    I am about to do a funeral in which the family is placing the cremains at the foot of their mother’s beloved dogwood tree. She died before the tree bloomed this year. So, she’ll be a part of the act rather than an appreciative observer. Would you allow me to include your poem in the service? I would be greatly honored and deeply appreciative.

    Blessings,

    Adam Love
    Concord, NC

    • BB Webb Says:

      I’d be happy to have you use my poem and am happy you found it!! If you’ll give me credit for it I would be most appreciative. Are you a minister or officiant?? And how did you find my poem? Warmly, BB Webb

      • Adam Love Says:

        I am a Methodist Pastor. I found your poem through a web search. I appreciative your artistry and the mastery of your words. They are a blessing for me.

  5. Debbi Says:

    Hi,
    I came across the photo above of a road with dogwoods on either side in a goggle search. I would like to use it on a website I am creating for an arborist. Is that possible? I’m new to this.

    Best,
    Debbi

    • BB Webb Says:

      Hi Debbie….I found that shot on the internet with no credit available, it’s not mine. I thought at first you wanted to use my poem….if so, you are more than welcome to if you’ll just give me credit. If you can find credit for that photo, I always work to give credit when I know a source. Thank you so much for inquiring though. I’d love to know the site of your arborist….!!! Warmly, BB


Leave a Reply

