BB Webb as BB Webb!

Exploring the Possibilities

The ‘Religion’ Thing… September 17, 2009

jesus-1Religion and politics can rile even the most mild mannered citizen. Much as pets and children can ‘steal the show’, heated debates around the aforementioned topics can reek havoc on relationships as to me, what I hear most is a fervent need to ‘be right’.

I am intrigued after reading my business coach’s blog, The Unsinkable Brian Cork. His blog is read by some 30,000 folks a day. His topics are diverse and he loves to ‘stir the pot’, something I too am drawn to in my own, probably for now, quieter way.

So, in commenting on the righteousness felt by some, or as Brian states, the folks who claim to ‘tip their toes’ into religion through stating they are instead ‘spiritual’, (I loved that), it was fun to watch my own reactions.

I’m sure he has received scores of responses….some of which he makes available for others to read and some not. My response was as follows:

Thank you for stirring the ‘religion’ pot Brian. I enjoy witnessing my own reactions as it shines a useful spotlight on where I am or where I’m not.

I’m not sure why I’m not a joiner, but I’m not, (well, unless there is a discounted price on something involved)! When I think of most religions I’ve experienced, in perhaps my limited way, I am reminded of my daily decision to either be ‘right’ or to be ‘loving’. (That brings up the gnarly hairball of controversy over the meaning behind being ‘loving’). Isn’t this fun! And besides, I’m enthralled with expansion, unlike what I feel is a rigidity of thought within many religions. buddah

Nevertheless, I do consider this earth sojourn as certainly the ‘spiritual’ part of ‘me’ having a human experience, fraught with all the limitations of ego (fear). Be that as it may, as I watch scores of devotees and the intelligensia, clammering with their astuteness and bravado, debating over ‘their’ God, summoning false security or claiming to KNOW one thing or another, it is then that I am more enamoured to thinkers like Osho and Tom Robbins. Consider this if you will from Mr. Osho…

‘don’t try to become anything- patient, loving, nonviolent, peaceful. Don’t try. If you try, you will force yourself and you will become a hypocrite. That’s how the whole of religion has turned into hypocrisy…..Basically you are totally free to choose, but once you choose, your very choice becomes a limitation. If you want to remain totally free, then don’t choose.’

That statement alone has kept me up into the wee hours with an attempt to ‘understand’. Ahhh, we mortals. To me, the magic is in the moment, the place of unknowing and the illusive, undefinable force within, which well, I call ‘Godforce’, but I made that up. Because I can. Viva la difference… in the end, naught matters as back to the ether go we. I’d say listen to the wisdom within your heart and let IT be the master of your mind. or….not! That’s okay….I won’t take it personally.

But that’s just me. Today.

And I’m sure, you have your own favorite views. So chime in…. he (or I) would love the debate. The mystery of it all and the passion behind each person’s views are what intrigue me the most.

In the meantime, enjoy yourself if you can….no one really does KNOW much of anything, for sure, now do they.

BB Webb

 

8 Responses to “The ‘Religion’ Thing…”

  1. Brian Patrick Cork Says:

    Always happy to help Ma’am.

    That’d be me. The Prudent Gentleman just off the center there.

    Cork

  2. Unpaid Says:

    Chiming in as requested…
    Your blog on religion is confusing, jumbled and left me wondering what it is you intended to convey to your readers. The only point you made that I think I understand is what I’ll chime in on.
    I think the view you have which you’ve apparently gleaned from Osho, is that “to remain totally free, then don’t choose as choices become limitations”, seems like a complete cop-out. Whether you understand correctly his teachings or not remains unclear. If this is his true philosophy and yours then it in and of itself is a choice. In my opinion, by not choosing you in fact are making a choice. The choice seems to be that by saying you are not choosing you are basically rejecting responsibility for yourself, your actions or the results that occur. What say you?

    • bbwebb Says:

      Thank you reader for chiming in….as I love tossing ideas about. I subscribe to no set doctrine of thought around religion or all things spiritual. I know bits and pieces about Osho’s work which intrigue me as they make me think, they make me question what I grew up being told was ‘the truth’. In an effort to find my own truth, indeed I make choices everyday, but they change, they are fluid as is my thinking as I expand and grow. I would prefer someone walk with me in my world to feel and see who I am rather than make a judgement based on what my ‘beliefs’ seem to be. I think somehow that is part of what Osho is referring to.
      I am intrigued by the passion such topics invoke amongst all kinds of folks, particularly it seems, the ‘learned’.
      I am merely a beginner, open and curious. I am encouraged by the passion and the ‘seeking’ that I perceive. It is important to people. I can certainly relate though I am less dogmatic about any ‘truth’ as I’m not sure what ‘IT’ is. I do rally against thinking however that does not feel right, to ME. It’s all so personal.
      Thanks again for stopping in. Your comments are always welcome.
      BB

    • Brian Patrick Cork Says:

      Unpaid:

      What’s your own perspective for the chiming, here?

      You’ve elected to take something out on Ms. BB. However, you are not telling us what undrpins your position. If you feel she’s not following that Osho fellow properly, where might she be missing the point?

      And, this is where you really confound even myself… Where do you see BB “rejecting responsibility for [herself]?

      Is there something, perhaps, Biblical, in your position?

      She’s put herself out here in the Blogsphere boldly laying-out her thoughts, and possibly her heart. That’s a form of seeking.

      Put some meat on your stake, sir. But, never someone’s heart.

      Consider yourself challenged. And, I’ll only value your own opinion if you are willing to offer details – and, collaborative -minded help.

      Cork

      • Unpaid Says:

        Here’s my crack at it:
        “Cork,”
        What a perplexingly defensive response. I am not taking anything out on Ms. Webb; I’m just “chiming in” with my own two cents, which she invited in her post. Whether or not you, sir, respect my opinion on such things is of zero consequence to me.
        What I perceive from scanning Ms. Webb’s blog is a person who is desperate to validate her worldview by stealing bits and pieces from various schools of thought and philosophies without committing to any of them fully because she wants an out if things don’t go her way. She’s a walking contradiction. Her viewpoints and convictions fluctuate from post to post, yet she criticizes those with the courage and conviction to commit to a school of thought. If she’s so open-minded and relishes her philosophical and religious freedom, why does she feel the need to constantly remind the reader how much she dislikes the views and beliefs of others?
        I am really enjoying your attempt to bait me with your implication that I’m some kind of Christian zealot bent on tearing down anyone who doesn’t agree with me. No, there’s no Biblical basis for my opinion on Ms. Webb’s writings. I just don’t respect people who don’t respect others’ opinions while refusing to commit to any of their own.

      • Unpaid Says:

        “Cork,”
        What a perplexingly defensive response. I am not taking anything out on Ms. Webb; I’m just “chiming in” with my own two cents, which she invited in her post. Whether or not you, sir, respect my opinion on such things is of zero consequence to me.
        What I perceive from scanning Ms. Webb’s blog is a person who is desperate to validate her worldview by stealing bits and pieces from various schools of thought and philosophies without committing to any of them fully because she wants an out if things don’t go her way. She’s a walking contradiction. Her viewpoints and convictions fluctuate from post to post, yet she criticizes those with the courage and conviction to commit to a school of thought. If she’s so open-minded and relishes her philosophical and religious freedom, why does she feel the need to constantly remind the reader how much she dislikes the views and beliefs of others?
        I am really enjoying your attempt to bait me with your implication that I’m some kind of Christian zealot bent on tearing down anyone who doesn’t agree with me. No, there’s no Biblical basis for my opinion on Ms. Webb’s writings. I just don’t respect people who don’t respect others’ opinions while refusing to commit to any of their own.

  3. Brian Patrick Cork Says:

    Good morning Unpaid.

    I’d be happy to consider otherwise, but you are the one coming off here as defensive. Ms. Webb does what she’s supposed to do in these public forums: She’s “stretching”. And, she’ll learn more, better and faster as we counter with examples.

    So, she may tend to tear (well nibble and fray perhaps) at others’ thinking. But, it’s more likely (my read anyway) that she’s exploring their thinking – and working through her own explorations through her Blog.

    Stand down good fellow. I’ll not corner you as any type of zealot.

    But, all the better, if you would like to contribute to BB’s line-of-thought, where might you direct her?

    You’re a good man (unless you are a woman). I’d bet on it.

    Cork


Leave a Reply

