BB Webb as BB Webb!

Exploring the Possibilities

Lighting Candles in the Dark… September 6, 2009

The Weepies have a song named ‘Lighting Candles’ which hit me in a new way this very weekend.

I’ve spent years and continue to find myself lighting candles in the dark.

I couldn’t find their song on YouTube to share, but have written out the words below. I relate.

For me it is possibly the hunger, the not being satisfied that buoys me forward. Some days I need a strong wind to help me along.

Maybe a train to city lights. It gets dark in the country.
Candles in the dark

LIGHTING CANDLES

Trying not to hope too hard
For what I want
Trying not to go too far
With all the dreaming

All the disappointment
So hard to handle
I am still in the dark
Lighting candles

Late at night I Lie awake
Think I should go
Catch a train to stranger towns
Where no one knows me

All the disappointment
So hard to handle
I am still in the dark
Lighting candles

All the company you keep
The things you do
Something in my heart
Will not give up on you

Now that I have got somewhere
Where will I go
Love’s a train to city lights
Where someone knows you

All the disappointment
So hard to handle
I am still in the dark
Lighting candles
I am still in the dark
Lighting candles

BB Webb

 

4 Responses to “Lighting Candles in the Dark…”

  1. Joe Shine Says:

    Do you remember when we used candles for light in our Putney mansion so we could save electricity? Those were the days!

    • BB Webb Says:

      Hi Joey Shine….indeed I do….that was my first bungalow away from home, on River Rd. by the farm. Poor as a church mouse, happy as can be with that lovely train running by regularly. Interesting college days indeed! With Katie my Weimaraner by my side.

  2. I love your blog. Keep up the good work!

  3. BB Webb Says:

    Thank you for your kind thoughts and for stopping by!!

    BB Webb


Leave a Reply

